Test Lab, NDT Weld Training Course Institute India Bangalore | Trinity NDT

What You Need to Know About Becoming an NDT Technician

What You Need to Know About Becoming an NDT Technician?

Introduction to NDT

NDT, or Non-Destructive Testing, is a unique technology that involves the use of various techniques to inspect and evaluate the properties of a material, component, or system without causing damage. There are a wide variety of NDT methods, each of which has its own unique set of principles and applications. Some common NDT methods include eddy current testing, acoustic emission testing, ultrasonic testing, magnetic particle inspection, radiographic testing, and visual inspection.

Technicians for NDT Inspection

NDT technicians are trained to use these methods to detect and evaluate defects in materials and structures, ensuring that they meet required specifications and standards. These technicians are often employed in industries such as aerospace, manufacturing, oil and gas, and power generation, as well as in the public sector for infrastructure maintenance.

Tests are performing during various stages of manufacturing such as raw materials, in process and final stages. This will ensure the quality of products is not deviating out of the standard. Besides, NDT is also routinely used for periodic in-services inspection of plants and structures to maintain safety and reliability.

Unlike Destructive testing where certification is not essentials, NDT needs a certified technician either to Level I or Level II. Standards mandates certification of individuals. Level I technicians can do specific testing, calibration and set up of instruments. Level II technicians in addition to Level I duties, can select a technique, do interpretation and evaluation of indications.

How to become NDT Technician?

To become certified as an NDT technician, individuals must complete a certain amount of training and pass exams that demonstrate their proficiency in a specific NDT method or methods. The certifying organizations for NDT technicians are typically professional societies or government agencies that have established standards and guidelines for the training and certification of NDT personnel.

Certifying Institutions, Certification Bodies

One of the most well-known certifying organizations for NDT technicians is the American Society for Nondestructive Testing (ASNT). The ASNT offers a variety of NDT certification programs, including levels I, II, and III. To become certified at Level I, individuals must complete a specific amount of classroom training and pass a written exam. To become certified at Level II, individuals must have practical experience in the specific NDT method they are seeking certification in, as well as pass a written exam. Level III certification is the highest level of NDT certification, and it requires a combination of practical experience and management skills, as well as the successful completion of written (General and Specific) and practical exams.

Other certifying organizations for NDT technicians include the Canadian Society for Nondestructive Testing (CSNDT), the British Institute of Nondestructive Testing (BINDT), and the European Federation for Nondestructive Testing (EFNDT). These organizations offer their own certification programs and exams, which may have slightly different requirements and standards. These organizations are chosen based on end customer needs.

Employer certifications such as ASNT SNT TC 1A are issued by employers based on written practice. Companies can use outside agencies such as Trinity Institute of NDT Technology for training.

Regulatory and Industry Specific Requirements

In addition to professional certification, NDT technicians may also be required to meet certain regulatory or industry-specific requirements. For example, technicians who work in the aviation industry may be required to hold an Airworthiness Certificate, which demonstrates their competency in the use of NDT methods for the inspection and maintenance of aircraft. NAS410 certification falls under this category. It is a mandatory certification if a technician chooses to work on aerospace NDT.

Technicians to work in Boiler pressure vessel code ASME shall meet the provisions in ASME Section V- nondestructive evaluation. Similarly, Radiography technicians (RT) shall take radiation safety course as per the country norms. For example, In India, technicians performing RT shall be certified in Radiation safety from Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB), Mumbai.

Each institution doing radiography shall have a Radiological Safety Officer (RSO) from BARC, Mumbai to ensure safety of operations. This is also known as BARC Level II certification in Radiography testing. Technicians interested in taking RT Level I or Level II can contact AERB/BARC for details.


Overall, NDT certification is an important way for technicians to demonstrate their knowledge and skills in the use of NDT methods, and it is often a requirement for employment in certain industries. By becoming certified, NDT technicians can be confident that they have the knowledge and skills necessary to perform their job duties safely and effectively. Being a technician gives job satisfaction and gives lucrative packages for happy living.

Suggested Further Reading

How to Choose online NDT Courses | Best Mode of NDT learning ? Find more

6 Best NDT courses for Mechanical Engineers

How Long Does NDT Certification last?

How Do You Become NDT Certified?

Which courses are Suitable for Mechanical Engineers? Short term courses